Baabda’s Ottoman sebil, located at the entrance of the town, was built in 1917 by Ismail Hakki Pasha – Ottoman Governor of Mount Lebanon.
The sebil has a unique and elegant architecture and design, and is believed to be the only remaining one standing in Lebanon. It served for irrigation and for drinking water for Baabda’s residents and surrounding towns.
In 1920, after the Ottomans withdrew from Lebanon, the outraged people destroyed the 4 lion heads from which the water flows, but the sebil remained intact throughout the years, and was heavily damaged during the Lebanese civil war.
The sebil was renovated in the mid 1990’s by reinstalling 4 new lion heads, and the fountain was relocated a few meters away from its original site, facing the municipality.
Notice the Arabic engraving in one of the pictures which states "Offered by Ismail Hakki Bayk, 1335 H."